May 13, 2025

Board of Airport Commissioners 1 World Way Los Angeles, CA 90045

CHAIR Jason Price

VICE CHAIR Wayne Williams

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Alicia Avery
Eliot Cohen
Steven Brackett
Roslyn Dahl
Kathy Delle Donne
Leonel Fuentes
Marykate Harris
Thomas Materna
Kanchan Mattoo
Heren Molina
John Parker
Araz Parseghian
Lisa Petrus
Eric Robinson
Robert Rodine

Board of Airport Commissioners:

On Tuesday, May 6, 2025, the Van Nuys Airport Citizens Advisory Council (CAC) passed the following motion as proposed by the VNY CAC Propeller Early Turns Ad Hoc Committee

SUBJECT: Adoption of Standard Operating Procedures for Aircraft in the East Traffic Pattern at Van Nuys Airport

I move that the Van Nuys Airport Citizens Advisory Council (CAC) formally adopt and recommend the following standard procedures for southbound aircraft operating in the East Traffic Pattern at the Van Nuys Airport and that these procedures be entered into the public domain as part of our ongoing commitment to flight safety, noise mitigation, and community engagement:

- 1. Crosswind Turn Initiation: Aircraft shall initiate the crosswind turn at the Tillman Water Reclamation Plant.
- 2. Traffic Pattern Altitude: Aircraft shall maintain a traffic pattern altitude of 1,700 feet Mean Sea Level (MSL).
- 3. **Downwind Leg**: Aircraft shall intercept and proceed downwind along the 405 Freeway corridor, maintaining the established traffic pattern altitude prior to intercept and until turning base.
- 4. Descent Protocol: No descent shall be initiated prior to entering the base leg of the traffic pattern.

These proposed procedures are intended to standardize flight operations in the East Traffic Pattern to enhance safety, reduce community noise impact, and ensure clear guidance for pilots. The motion passed with a roll call vote of thirteen "yea" votes, zero "nay" votes, and zero "abstention". ("yea" votes: J. Price, A. Avery, S. Brackett, E. Cohen, L. Fuentes, M. Harris, T. Materna, N. Mendez, H. Molina, A. Parseghian, E. Robinson, R. Rodine, and P. Winger)

Motion: Chair Jason Price Second: Robert Rodine

Thank you for your consideration.

Jason Price, Chair

Van Nuys Airport Citizens Advisory Council

CC: Imelda Padilla, CD 6

Adrin Nazarian, CD 2

Bob Blumenfield, CD 3

Nithya Raman, CD 4

Katy Yaroslavsky, CD 5

Monica Rodríguez, CD 7

John Lee, CD 12

Office of Mayor Karen Bass

John Ackerman, LAWA CEO

VNY Citizens Advisory Council Members

Van Nuys Airport • 16461 Sherman Way, Suite 300, Van Nuys, CA 91406 • (818) 442-6526